Skip to main content

Potential Captains for IPL 2022

April 3, 2022

Written By,

Brijesh Mehta

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) started on 26 March 2022. A big Twenty20 cricket league IPL organized by the Board Of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) In 2007.

With a total of 10 main teams, there are 2 new teams: Lucknow Super Giants and Gujrat Titans. Various Players from different nationalities are being auctioned based on their performance skills and their forms.

The Player’s auction have been completed in February in Bengaluru, the maximum amount of players are from India, Australia, the west indies, and South Africa. Read below to find out the list of potential captains for IPL 2022 along with the best ipl online betting app where you can bet on Ipl 2022!

Changes in Rules For IPL 2022

There are a lot of changes in this 15th edition of IPL2022 including Safety policy, Rules for covid 19, a decision review system, and changes in batsman strike position.

  • Safety Policy

Globally covid 19 has effects on almost every sector. Sectors such as ceremonies, movies, sports, and business has been directly affected by the covid 19. Indian premier league is a massive crowd cricket tournament where millions of cricket devotees have joined the live event together.

In this scenario, Health precautions are the major rules to be set first. Even the Covid rates are decreasing, still, it is a universal issue and BCCI is not taking this issue lightly.

If a team becomes unable to field a playing XI because of COVID-19, BCCI may try to reschedule the match for a later date in the season. If this is not possible, the matter shall be forwarded to the IPL technical committee.

  • Decision Review System

Before, each team was only given one DRS review in each innings in the Tata Indian Premier League. Now, Players will be allowed to use 2 DRS reviews from each innings, which will have a significant impact on game results.

This new rule would advantage several teams this season since they would be able to take advantage of umpire mistakes and save their wickets.

  • Changing on Batsman’s Strike Position

The game rule maker, Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has made this new rule in IPL 2022. As per the rule When a batsman is out and the non-striker crosses paths with the striker, the next player will be on the strike and the non-striker must return to their original position.

This regulation can dramatically affect game outcomes, especially when players try to rotate the strike by crossing paths, This rule does not allow upper-order batsmen to take the strike and all responsibility goes on to the lower-order player. This rule affects the gaming strategy.

Also read: online cricket betting tips!

Captains Of All 10 Franchises

The new season of the Indian premier league is started on 26th March. Aside from the eight previous teams, two new franchises, the Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans will compete for the IPL title.

Some franchise has kept their same groups of players while some are chosen to go with a fresh perspective this season. three new captains will debut in this 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Rahul is leading the Lucknow Super Giants, which is a new club set to compete in the IPL in 2022. Last season, after Shreyas Iyer suffered a shoulder injury and was ruled out of the first phase of the competition, Rishabh Pant took over as captain of the Delhi Capitals.

Iyer was released by the Delhi Capitals ahead of the IPL 2022 auction, when he was purchased by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for INR 12.25 crore. As the franchise’s new captain, Iyer took over from Eoin Morgan.


Mayank Agarwal is one of the debut captains of IPL 15th edition 2022. Mayank has played 101 matches in his IPL career. And he’s replacing KL Rahul and taking over as a captain of Punjab Kings (PBKS).


Another new captain Hardik Pandeya is taking captaincy for Gujrat Titans, which is also a new team. Gujrat Titans purchased Hardik pandeya for Rs 15 crore as a leading role.


Rajasthan royal did not perform well last season. They are the second team in the table from the bottom. The captain of Rajasthan royal Sanju Samson could bring excellent performance this year.


Kane Williamson’s performance is good as his role. The captain of sunrise Hyderabad Williamson is a batsman and always performed across the game’s structure.

Kane Williamson, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Umran Malik are some of the key players on the team adding Nicholas poor and Aiden Markram from South Africa will be the power-hitting of more sunrise Hyderabad.


KL Rahul leading the PBKS in the last several seasons. KL Rahul is starting a new section in this IPL2022, With Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). Probably the best player and great performer captain of all time. He was auctioned for 16 crores.


The most experienced and great player FAF DU PLESSIS has never got a chance to play as a captain. But after the viral Kohli resigning as a captaincy from the team Royal challengers Bangalore ( RCB), Duplessis was acquired at the auction and the franchise announce the new captain for the next IPL.

  • RISHABH PANT (Delhi Capitals)

Following the excellent first season of Rishabh Pant, he became the second full season captain for the Delhi capitals in 15TH Editions of IPL 2022. Last season, he led the club to the playoffs, and this season, he’ll try to put an end to the franchise’s long quest for a championship.


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) purchased Shreyas Iyer for 12.25 crore. He took new captaincy over from Eoin morgan, even though the club reached the finals the previous season. KKR’s new captain Shreyas Iyer played 89 IPL matches with 123.8 Strike rates.


After MS Dhoni’s resignation as captain of Chennai Super King, Ravindra Jadeja is taking a leadership role for CSK in this season IPL2022. The season will be more exciting to see with Jadeja’s captaincy.

All-rounder cricketer Ravindra Jadeja was bought by the CSK franchise for 16 crores. Jadeja has played 202 IPL matches and 153 innings with a strike rate of 127.91.


Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful captains in the Indian premier league (IPL). Rohit Sharma has driven Mumbai Indians to win 5 trophies in IPL. Mumbai Indians won a total of five IPL Trophies in Rohit Sharma’s captaincy.


Indian Premier League 2022 (IPL) is a mega event for cricket lovers. We can notice the variations and changes in game formats and rules every season. Players are auctioned from almost all around the world. The tournament provides the opportunity to the domestic and all emerging players.

IPL is a big-league tournament organized by BCCI. All franchises are bidding players on the auction and players are chosen based on their previous performance and popularity.

IPL 2022 will be played by 10 teams. Gujrat titans and Lucknow Super Giants are the new teams for this season. Here, you can see the changes in game modifications and rules this year.

The tournament is started on March 26 and will be going on till May 29. A massive amount of audience is going to bet on every upcoming game. betting and predictions are another part of this big cricket event. Tons of betting platforms are available on the internet.

But we highly recommend you to go with a certified and reliable online betting site such as BetBarter India that can help to feel secure in any betting games. Sign up now and try out your luck in ipl betting online!

Written By,

Brijesh Mehta

Brijesh Mehta is a content writer & strategist from India providing his top-notch skills & expertise in the Sports and online casino industry for more than seven years. He is an avid reader and creative writer who is fond of words and uses them to teach others about online betting and trending sports news through his in-depth guides.